Skip to main content

About The Department

Our mission is to foster the healthy development, safety, well-being, and self-sufficiency of Vermonters.

Our Structure

We have six divisions that deliver our main programs and services.

  1. Child Development Division - ensures access to quality child care & development services.
  2. Disability Determination Services - determines medical eligibility for federal disability benefits.
  3. Economic Services Division - helps individuals and families to meet their basic needs.
  4. Family Services Division - ensures the safety and well-being of children and youth.
  5. Office of Child Support - helps families with issues related to child support.
  6. Office of Economic Opportunity - supports organizations that provide direct services to lower-income Vermonters.

Our Vision

We envision Vermont as a place where:

  • People prosper,
  • Children and families are safe and have strong, loving connections, and
  • Individuals have the opportunity to fully develop their potential.