Get help

Vermont's parentage law can be
straightforward or complicated,
depending on the circumstances.
Contact OCS if you need help
establishing parentage for the
purpose of child support.

Phone: 1-800-786-3214
Email: 0CSCSU@vermont.gov

Some faqgs
Could our VAP be rejected?

Yes, it could be if someone else:

2 Was found by a court to be the
child’s parent.

9 Has a valid VAP on file. OR

2 Is presumed to be a parent under
the law —unless they file a Denial
of Parentage (DOP) at the same
time you file your VAP.

What if the birth mom was married

to someone else?
If she was married/civilly joined to
someone else up to 300 days before
your child’s birth, her spouse/
former spouse is a presumed parent
and must file a DOP at the same
time you file your VAP.

Is a VAP legally binding?

Yes. A signed VAP is equal to a
court determination of parentage.
A challenge is only allowed in
limited circumstances.

You have the right to talk to a
lawyer before you sign. Once you
file your VAP and it’s accepted,
you will be legally responsible for
financially supporting the child.

Can I rescind a VAP/DOP?

Yes, you can take one back by:

2 Filing a rescission form with Vital
Records — within 60 days of its
effective date. OR

9 Starting a court proceeding —
within 60 days of its effective
date or the date of the first court
hearing you're involved with
related to the child.

Learn more

For forms, definitions and
frequently-asked questions, go to:
dcf.vermont.gov/ocs/services/parentage.
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Free Interpretation Services

If English is not your first language

and you need help understanding
this information, please let us know.
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Establishing parentage
This brochure:

2 Summarizes the many ways to
establish parentage in Vermont.

2 Provides more details about the
acknowledgment option.

The method you should use will
depend on the circumstances of your
child’s conception or birth.

Through marriage/ civil union:

If you are married or joined through
civil union — when your child is
born (or up to 300 days before your
child is born if the marriage or
union has ended):

< You don’t need to do anything to
establish parentage.

9 The law presumes both spouses
are the parents (presumed parents).

< The hospital staff (or licensed
midwife if your child is born at
home) will add both parents’
names to the birth certificate and
send it to Vital Records.

Office of Vital Records
108 Cherry Street, PO Box 70
Burlington, VT 05402-0070
1-800-439-5008

Through assisted reproduction:

If your child will be conceived with
the help of assisted reproduction —
in a certified laboratory:

1. Complete a Consent to Parentage
From Assisted Reproduction and
file it with Vital Records. This will
establish you as the intended parents.

2. You may also complete & file the
attached Voluntary Acknowledgment
of Parentage (VAP).

Through surrogacy:
If your child will be born through a
gestational carrier (surrogate):

1. Hire an attorney to execute a
Gestational Carrier Agreement
before the child is conceived. This
will establish you as the intended parents.

2. You may also complete a VAP and
file it with Vital Records.

Through court:
If either of you has doubts about
who the genetic parents are:

1. File an action to establish
parentage in Superior Court -
Family Division.

2. The court will make a
determination of parentage.

Through voluntary

acknowledgment:

If you are the genetic parents but
are not married (to each other)
when your child is born:

1. Complete the attached VAP.

2. Sign it in front of a witness who
is at least 18 years old (this can’t
be either of you).

3. File it with Vital Records.

If you complete it at birth:
Hospital staff (or licensed midwife
if your child is born at home) will
add both names to your child’s
birth certificate and send your
VAP to Vital Records.

If you complete it later on:

Send your VAP to Vital Records.
If it’s accepted, they’ll make sure
both parents’ names are on the
birth certificate.

What makes a VAP valid?

2 It's signed/dated by both parents
who are eligible to sign.

2 It's signed/dated by a witness
who is at least 18. AND

2 It’s filed with Vital Records.

Get forms & more details: https://dcf.vermont.gov/ocs/services/parentage
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Vital Records Office
108 Cherry Street, PO Box 70
Burlington, VT 05402-0070

(802) 863-7275 or 1-800-439-5008 (in VT only)

Voluntary Acknowledgment of Parentage (VAP)

Please type or print clearly. Read all the information provided before you sign. Sign in
front of a witness and make sure the witness signs in both spaces on the back of this form.

1. Child’s full name (first, middle, last, suffix)

2. Date of birth (mm/dd/yyyy)

Child

3. Child’s birthplace | City/town

County

State

4. Current legal name (first, middle, last, suffix)

5. Social Security number

6. Date of birth (mm/dd/yyyy) 7. Birthplace (state, territory or foreign country)

Birth Parent

8. Mailing address (street and number, city/town, state, zip code)

9. Current legal name (first, middle, last, suffix)

10. Social Security number

Parent

11. Date of birth (mm/dd/yyyy) 12. Birthplace (state, territory or foreign country)

13. Mailing address (street and number, city/town, state, zip code)

Information About Any Other Parent

form? [ Yes []No

Does this child have another parent/possible parent* other than the two listed on this

If you answered yes, provide the other parent’s name below and explain the circumstances.

* |If someone else is a presumed parent under the law, they must file a Denial of Parentage at
the same time you file your VAP. See dcf.vermont.gov/ocs/services/parentage/definitions.

Vital Records Office Use Only: Date received:

Voluntary Acknowledgment of Parentage (VAP) ¢ rev. 06/20

Form: Page 1 of 2



Child’s full name (first, middle, last, suffix) Date of birth (mm/dd/yyyy)

Statements of Voluntary Acknowledgment
Both parents MUST initial each statement below.

Parent’s
initials

Parent’s !
initials | UNDERSTAND THAT:

We have the right to talk to a lawyer (on our own or together) before we sign.

Once we sign, we’ll be legally responsible for financially supporting this child.

Once we both acknowledge parental rights, either one of us or the Office of Child
Support may file a petition to establish a child support order.

We may rescind (withdraw) this VAP — up to 60 days from the date it was filed and
accepted — by filing a rescission form with the Office of Vital Records.

Once 60 days have passed, we’ll have to go to court to rescind (withdraw) or
challenge this VAP. The same is true for a Denial of Parentage (DOP).

A signed VAP is equal to a court determination of parentage and a challenge is
only allowed in limited circumstances.

Future changes to this form will not affect valid VAPs.

By signing below, we certify that:

® The information we provided on this form is correct to the best of our knowledge.
* We are signing voluntarily, without being subject to force, threats or coercion.

* We have read & understand the information provided.

[72]
N § * We understand the legal consequences of signing.
Ll
n:: ; Birth parent’s signature Date signed (mm/dd/yyyy)
':,: o3
% -2 WITNESS Date signed (mm/dd/yyyy)
wn o

@©

8- | parent’s signature Date signed (mm/dd/yyyy)

WITNESS Date signed (mm/dd/yyyy)

Send your completed VAP to: Call 1-800-786-3214 if you have questions:
Office of Vital Records Office of Child Support staff can explain:
Vermont Department of Health * What signing this form means

108 Cherry Street, PO Box 70
Burlington, VT 05402-0070

* The different ways to establish parentage
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