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Overview 

 

This bulletin proposes changes to health care program rules necessitated by: 

 

���� Vermont Act 61 (H.444, approved June 2, 2009) entitled, An Act Related to Health Care Reform  

���� Vermont Act 1 (Special Session, approved June 2, 2009 by the legislative override of Governor’s 

veto) entitled, The  Fiscal Year 2010 Appropriations Act,  

���� Federal Children’s Health Insurance Program Reauthorization Act (CHIPRA), and  

���� Additional technical rule changes initiated by the Department for Children and Families (“the 

department”).  

 

These changes are described more fully below.    

 

I. 

Act 61: An Act Related to Health Care Reform 

 

Note:  On August 18, 2009, the Joint Fiscal Committee recommended eliminating funding for 

both of the following provisions as well as repeal of the statutory expansion of eligibility.  

The Committee also recommended that any decision resulting in eligibility expansion be 

postponed until after the passage of federal health care reform.  Discussion of these 

provisions in the General Assembly is likely but the outcome is uncertain.  The rule is 

included here because of the statutory mandate to draft the rule. 

 

Self-employment exception to the waiting period  (VHAP Rule 5312(G); Premium Assistance Rule 

5901(L)(4))    

 

Section 19 of Act 61 creates an exception for self-employed people who lost their insurance within the 

past 12 months to enroll in VHAP or premium assistance without waiting 12 months under certain 

circumstances.  Specifically, VHAP and premium assistance programs may be available to self-employed 

individuals who lost non-group (individual) coverage when their business terminated or the individual 

became unable to continue in his or her line of work.   This change will take effect only when the Centers 

for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) approve an amendment to the Global Commitment for Health 

Medicaid Section 1115 waiver. 

 

Depreciation  (VHAP Rule 5321(D)) 

 

Sections 22(b) and 23 of Act 61 make depreciation an allowable business expense deduction for self-

employed individuals who request VHAP or premium assistance coverage.  This change is subject to 

subsequent legislative approval, because the statute requires a cost estimate submission in January, at 

which point the legislature will decide upon implementation.  

 

This change will take effect only when the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) approve 

an amendment to the Global Commitment for Health Medicaid Section 1115 waiver, and in no event 

before February 1, 2010.  
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II. 

The Fiscal Year 2010 Appropriations Act (Act 1) 

 

Definition of Uninsured   (VHAP Rule 5312) 

 

Section E.307.2  of Act 1 authorizes the department to correct a drafting error regarding the VHAP 

definition of “uninsured.”  Specifically, individuals who are eligible for Medicare are not eligible for 

VHAP.  This rule has been in place since the inception of the VHAP program; it was inadvertently 

omitted when amendments (for domestic violence and high deductible health plans) were made to this 

section last year.  This technical correction restores the inadvertently omitted rule text. 

 

III. 

The Children’s Health Insurance Program Reauthorization Act (CHIPRA) 

 

CHIPRA is a major piece of federal health care legislation that contains a number of eligibility mandates 

and options for Medicaid and State Children’s Health Insurance Program (“SCHIP”).  It was passed in 

February 2009.  This bulletin proposes amending Vermont health care rules to implement the following 

requirements related to citizenship and deeming:    

 

���� Medicaid Rule 4170 proposes amendments based on CHIPRA section 211(b)(2).  A baby meets the 

citizenship requirement whenever the birth is covered by Medicaid or SCHIP. 

 

���� Medicaid Rule 4171 proposes amendments based on CHIPRA section 211(b).  A document issued by 

a federally recognized Indian tribe is considered satisfactory primary evidence of citizenship and 

identity. 

 

���� ANFC-Related Medicaid Rule 4312.8(A) proposes amendments based on CHIPRA section 113(b).  A 

baby is deemed fully Medicaid eligible for the first year of life, when the child has been born to a 

mother receiving Medicaid.  CHIPRA removed the requirement that the baby also had to remain in the 

mother’s household.   

 

IV. 

 Additional Rule Changes 

 

This bulletin also contains other technical changes as described specifically below:  

 

���� Medicaid Rule 4170 – Incorporates exceptions to citizenship and identity requirement previously 

implemented by Interpretive Memoranda. 

���� Dr. Dynasaur Rule 5200 - removes this rule series since those rules were incorporated many years ago 

into the ANFC-Related 4300 rule series related to Children and Families. 

���� VHAP Rule 5312 – specifies that people whose most recent eligibility was a state-sponsored program 

are not subject to the 12-month waiting period. 

���� VHAP Rule 5324 - Incorporates clarification on the meaning of the term caretaker relatives previously 

implemented by Interpretive Memoranda. 

���� VHAP Rule 5342.1 – clarifies that when VHAP closes for nonpayment of premium due to medical 

incapacity, VHAP-Limited coverage will be provided retroactively to the first day of the month that 

the break in coverage occurred, once the application is received and processed.  No premium will be 

required for the months of medical incapacity at this time due to concerns about jeopardizing federal 

stimulus money.  Also adds loss of health insurance as a result of domestic violence as an exception to  
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 the twelve month waiting period to conform this exception across all applicable programs; adds loss 

of insurance for self-employed individuals as an exception to the twelve month waiting period. 

���� Healthy Vermonters Rule 5710 – corrects eligibility from 300 to 350 percent of FPL. 

���� Healthy Vermonters Rule 5724  – corrects eligibility from 300 to 350 percent of FPL. 

���� Premium Assistance Rule 5925 – specifies that failure to make a timely premium payment because of 

medical incapacity is not grounds for retroactive premium assistance coverage.  The department is 

unable to grant medical incapacity exceptions for continuing coverage of premium assistance 

programs because private carriers can not be forced to back-date coverage.   

 

V. 

Specific changes 

 

Program Rule   Description of change 

Medicaid 4170 Adds to list of applicants and beneficiaries not required to document citizenship as 

a condition of receipt of Medicaid benefits. 

Medicaid 4171 A document issued by a federally recognized Indian tribe is satisfactory proof of 

citizenship. 

ANFC-

Related 

Medicaid 

4312.8 Extends eligibility period for newborns for ANFC-related Medicaid from two 

months to twelve months after birth.  Eliminates requirement that baby live in the 

same home as mother during that year. 

Dr. 

Dynasaur 

5200 Removes this rule series since those rules were incorporated many years ago into 

the ANFC-Related 4300 rule series related to Children and Families. 

VHAP 5312 Clarifies that individuals whose most recent coverage was a state-sponsored 

program are not subject to the twelve month waiting period for VHAP.   

Inserts new self-employment exception to the twelve month waiting period. 

Restores language inadvertently omitted that makes Medicare recipients ineligible 

for VHAP. 

VHAP 5321 Allows depreciation as a business expense in calculating eligibility for VHAP. 

VHAP 5324 Amends income test for VHAP. 

VHAP 5342 Amends disenrollment from VHAP due to eligibility for Medicare. 

VHAP 5342.1 Provides retroactive coverage of VHAP-Limited in cases of VHAP closure due to 

lack of payment caused by medical incapacity. 

Adds domestic violence and loss of insurance by self-employed individuals as 

exceptions to the twelve month  waiting period. 
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VScript 5620 Clarifies that prescription drug expenses for individuals eligible for or receiving 

any plan of assistance, including Medicare, Medicaid, or VHAP are not eligible for 

pharmaceutical assistance under VScript. 

HVP 5710 Corrects FPL reference. 

HVP 5724 Corrects FPL reference. 

Premium 

Assistance 

5901 
Amends definition of “uninsured”. 

Premium 

Assistance 

5925 Specifies that nonpayment of premium because of medical incapacity is not 

grounds for retroactive coverage of a gap in coverage after reinstatement.  

 

 

VI. 

Rulemaking Process 
 

A.  Informal Public Input Process 
 

1. The proposed rule was filed with the Medicaid Advisory Board on September 24, 2009 and 

presented at its meeting.   

 

2. The proposed rule is expected to be filed with the Interagency Committee on Administrative Rules 

(ICAR) on October 2, 2009 and presented at its meeting on October 13, 2009.   

 

3. The proposed rule is expected to be filed with the Health Access Oversight Committee as well as 

the Secretary of State’s Office on October 16, 2009.  The Office published notice of rulemaking 

on October 29, 2009 and November 5, 2009.    

 

4. The department will post the proposed rule on its website and notify advocates and members of 

the public with health care manual rules subscriptions of the proposed rule.  

 

B.  Formal Notice and Comment Period 
 

1. A public hearing is scheduled on November 16, 2009 at 1:00 p.m., in the DCF Commissioner’s 

Conference Room, 5 North, State Office Complex, Waterbury, Vermont.  

 

2. Written comments are due no later than 4:30 p.m., on November 23, 2009.   Written comments 

may be submitted to Marybeth McCaffrey, Health Care Policy Analyst, Economic Services 

Division, DCF; 103 South Main Street, Waterbury, Vermont 05671-1201 Fax: (802) 241-2235. 

 

3. On December 18, 2009, copies of the final proposed rule are expected to be filed with the 

Secretary of State and the Legislative Committee on Administrative Rules (LCAR). 

 

4. The department expects to present the rule to LCAR before February 1, 2010.  

 

5. The department expects to file the final rule no later than February 12, 2010. 
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6. The rule is expected to be effective on March 1, 2010. 

 

For information on upcoming hearings before the Legislative Committee on Administrative Rules go to 

the website of the Vermont Legislature at: http://www.leg.state.vt.us/schedule/schedule2.cfm  or call 

 828-5760. 

 

 

EXPLANATION OF SYMBOLS 

  

Omission of unchanged parts of a rule are indicated by the insertion of four asterisks separated by spaces 

(* * * *). 

 

Vertical lines in the left margin indicate changes.   
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MEDICAID RULES 

 

4170 Citizenship (01/01/2007, 06-48) 
 

A. As a condition of eligibility for Medicaid an individual must be: 
 

1. A citizen or national of the United States (rule 4171), or 
2. A qualified alien (rule 4172). 
 

B. Exceptions: Certain qualified aliens are barred from Medicaid for five years. (rule 
4173). 

 
C. Qualified aliens affected by the five-year bar and non-qualified aliens may be eligible 

for emergency services and/or emergency labor and delivery services. (rule 4177). 
 
D. Except as provided in paragraph (E) of this section, Medicaid applicants and 

beneficiaries must: 
 

1. Sign a declaration that the individual is a citizen or national of the United States 
(rule 4171) or a qualified alien (rule 4172), and 

2. Provide documentation of citizenship or immigration status and identity (rules 
4171.1 and 4171.2). 

 
E. The following individuals are not required to document citizenship and identity as a 

condition of receipt of Medicaid benefits: 
 

1. Those who have received either Supplemental Security Income (SSI), Social 
Security Disability Insurance (SSDI),  or Medicare.  

2. Children in IV-E foster care. 
3. Children receiving Title IV-E adoption assistance.  
4. Children born in the United States on or after April 1, 2009 when the child’s 

mother is covered by state administered health care assistance under Title XIX 
or XXI, other than premium assistance, at the time of birth. 

 
 

 
4171.2 Citizenship and Identity Documentation (01/01/2007, 06-48) 
 

*  *  *  *  
 

C. Primary Evidence of Citizenship and Identity 
 

1. The following evidence will be accepted as satisfactory documentary evidence of 
both identity and citizenship: 

 
a. A U.S. Passport 
 

The Department of State issues this. A U.S. passport need not be currently 



valid to be accepted as evidence of U.S. citizenship, as long as it was originally 
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issued without limitation. However, a passport that was issued with limitation 
and is not currently valid may be used as proof of identity. 
 

i. U.S. passports issued after 1980 show only one person. However, 
spouses and children were sometimes included on one passport through 
1980.  Consequently, the citizenship and identity of the included person 
can be established when one of these passports is presented. 

 
b.   A Certificate of Naturalization (DHS Forms N-550 or N-570)  
 

Department of Homeland Security issues this. 
 

c. A Certificate of U.S. Citizenship (DHS Forms N-560 or N-561)  
 
Department of Homeland Security issues certificates of citizenship to 
individuals who derive citizenship through a parent. 
 

d. An Indian Tribe Document   
 
A document issued by a federally recognized Indian tribe evidencing 
membership or enrollment, or affiliation with, such tribe (such as a tribal 
enrollment card or certificate of Indian blood.)  The Secretary of Health and 
Human Services will issue regulations concerning tribes located in states with 
international borders whose members include individuals who are not citizens 
of the United States.  The regulations will authorize the presentation of such 
other forms of identification that the Secretary determines to be satisfactory 
evidence of citizenship or nationality. 

 
2. Individuals born outside the U.S. who were not citizens at birth must submit primary 

evidence of U.S. citizenship and identity. However, children born outside the United 
States and adopted by U.S. citizens may establish citizenship using the process 
established by the Child Citizenship Act of 2000 (Pub. L. 106-395, enacted on 
October 30, 2000). (rule 4171(c)). 

 
*  *  *  * 
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ANFC-RELATED MEDICAID RULES 

 
4312.8 Other Eligible Family Members (07/01/2001, 01-16) 
 

A.  (Newborns) A child born to a woman eligible for and receiving state administered 
health care assistance, other than premium assistance, on the date of the child's birth 
is   eligible for ANFC-related Medicaid.  The child is deemed eligible for twelve months 
after birth.    

 
B. (Adoption or Foster Care) Children under the age of 21 living in Vermont for whom an 

adoption assistance agreement is in effect or foster care maintenance payments are 
being made (by any state) under title IV-E of the Act are automatically eligible for 
ANFC-related Medicaid. Committed children in the custody of the Family Services 
Division not IV-E eligible must pass the applicable eligibility tests before their eligibility 
for Medicaid can be established. 

 
C. (Special Needs Adoption) Children under the age of 21 with special needs for medical 

or rehabilitative care at the time of adoption who were eligible for Medicaid prior to the 
adoption assistance agreement other than an agreement under title IV-E are 
automatically eligible for ANFC-related Medicaid. 

 
D. (Hospice Care) Individuals who would be eligible for Medicaid under the plan if they 

were in a medical institution (i.e., their income is under the institutional income 
standard and they meet all other eligibility tests), who are terminally ill, and who 
receive hospice care in accordance with a voluntary election described in section 
1905(o) of the Act. 

 
E. (Breast or Cervical Cancer) Women who have been screened for and found to have 

breast or cervical cancer, including precancerous conditions, through the National 
Breast and Cervical Cancer Early Detection Program (NBCCEDP); are under age 65; 
and are uninsured and otherwise not eligible for SSI-related or ANFC-related 
Medicaid. Coverage under this category begins following the screening and diagnosis 
and continues for as long as a treating health professional verifies the woman is in 
need of cancer treatment services. 
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Dr. Dynasaur Rules 

 

5200-

5255
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VHAP RULES 

 
5312 Uninsured (12/04/2008, 08-40) 
 
Individuals are considered “uninsured” and  meet this requirement if they are not eligible for 
Medicare and have no other insurance that includes both hospital and physician services, and 
did not have such insurance within the 12 months prior to the month of application, unless they 
meet one of the exceptions specified below.    
 

A.  An individual with household income, after allowable deductions, at or below 75 
percent of the federal poverty guideline for households of the same size; 

 
B.  An individual who lost private insurance or employer-sponsored coverage during the 

prior 12 months for the following reasons: 
 

1. The individual’s coverage ended because of: 
 

a. Loss of employment, including a reduction in hours that results in ineligibility for 
employer-sponsored coverage, unless the employer has terminated its 
employees or reduced their coverage for the primary purpose of discontinuing 
employer-sponsored coverage and establishing their eligibility for Catamount 
Health; 

 
b. of the principal insurance policyholder; 
 
c. Divorce of dissolution of a civil union; 
 
d. No longer receiving coverage as a dependent under the plan of a parent or 

caretaker relative; or 
 
e. No longer receiving COBRA, VIPER, or other state continuation coverage; or 

 
2.  College- or university-sponsored health insurance became unavailable to the 

individual because the individual graduated, took a leave of absence, decreased 
enrollment below a threshold set for continued coverage, or otherwise terminated 
studies. However, students under the age of 23 enrolled in a program of an 
institution of higher education are not eligible for coverage, if they: 

 
a.  Have elected not to purchase health insurance covering both hospital and 

physician services offered by their educational institution; or 
 
b.  Are eligible for coverage through the policy held by their parents, but their 

parents have elected not to purchase this coverage. 
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D.  The individual lost health insurance as a result of domestic violence. The individual 

shall provide the agency of human services with satisfactory documentation of the 
domestic violence. The documentation may include a sworn statement from the 
individual attesting to the abuse, law enforcement or court records, or other 
documentation from an attorney or legal advisor, member of the clergy, or health care 
provider, as defined in section 9402 of Title 18. Information relating to the domestic 
violence, including the individual’s statement and corroborating evidence, provided to 
the agency shall not be disclosed by the agency unless the individual has signed a 
consent to disclose form. In the event the agency is legally required to release this 
information without consent of the individual, the agency shall notify the individual at 
the time the notice or request for release of information is received by the agency and 
prior to releasing the requested information. 

 
      NOTE: This subdivision shall take effect upon issuance by the Centers for Medicare 

and Medicaid Services of approval of an amendment to the Global Commitment 
for Health Medicaid Section 1115 Waiver allowing for a domestic violence 
exception to the Catamount Health premium assistance waiting period. 

 
E.  Notwithstanding any other provision of law, when an individual is enrolled in 

Catamount Health solely under the high deductible standard outlined in 8 V.S.A. § 
4080f(a)(9), the individual shall not be eligible for the Vermont health access plan for 
the 12-month period following the date of enrollment in Catamount Health. 

 
F.   Prior Enrollment in a Health-Care Program   
 

No waiting period is imposed because of the loss of: 
 

1. Medicaid; 
 

2. VHAP; 
 

3. Dr. Dynasaur; 
 

4. VHAP-ESIA;  
 

5. Catamount-ESIA; 
 

6. Catamount Health with or without premium assistance, or  
 

7. Prior state administered coverage under Title XIX or Title XXI of the Social 
Security Act by another public entity. 

 



Bulletin No. 09-24P 

Page 13 

 

G.  A self-employed individual insured through the nongroup market who lost insurance 
as the direct result of either:  

 
1.   the termination of a business entity owned by the individual 
      or  
2.   the individual’s  inability to continue in his or her line of work, if: 

• the individual produces satisfactory evidence of the business termination or   

• certifies by affidavit that he or she is not employed and is no longer seeking 
employment in the same line of work. 

 
NOTE:   Subsection G. shall take effect upon approval by the Centers for 

Medicare and Medicaid Services.   The Joint Fiscal Committee, on 
August 18, 2009, voted to eliminate funding for this provision.  The 
Committee also recommended repeal of statutory authorization for this 
provision.   Implementation of the rule is uncertain. 

 
5321 Income (05/15/1996, 96-18) 
 
Countable income is all earned and unearned income, as defined in this section, less all allowed 
deductions.    

 
* * * *  

D.   Business Expenses 
 

Business expenses, which are deducted from gross receipts to determine adjusted gross 
earned income, are limited to operating costs necessary to produce cash receipts, such 
as: 
 
1. Office or shop rental; taxes on farm or business property; 
 
2. Hired help; 
 
3. Interest on business loans;   
 
4. Cost of materials, stock, and inventory, livestock for resale required for the production 

of this income; and 
 
5.  Depreciation.     
 
          NOTE:  Changes to section D. 5 shall take effect upon approval by the Centers for 

Medicare and Medicaid Services but in no event before February 1, 2010.  The 
legislature must also review results of a study of estimated costs before 
implementation.  The Joint Fiscal Committee, on August 18, 2009, voted to eliminate 
funding for this provision.  The Committee recommends repeal of statutory 
authorization for this provision in the 2010 Adjourned Session.  Implementation of the 
rule is uncertain. 

 



Items such as personal business and entertainment expenses, personal transportation, 
purchase of capital equipment and payment on the principal of loans for capital assets or 
durable goods are not allowable business expenses.   
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Tax returns and business records are considered appropriate sources of accurate figures 
for farm and business receipts and expenses. 
 

 The income of a VHAP group owning or operating a commercial boarding house shall be 
 treated as any other business income. A commercial boarding house is defined as an  

establishment licensed as a commercial enterprise that offers meals and lodging for 
compensation. In areas without licensing requirements, a commercial boarding house 
shall be defined as a commercial establishment that offers meals and lodging with the 
intention of making a profit.  
 
No computation is required for foster homes furnishing boarding care to children in 
custody of, and placed by, the Family Services Division (FSD). Department board rates 
are established to cover expenses only, with no profit available; therefore, no earned 
income is considered available from this source. 
 
For a VHAP group that is not a commercial boarding house, the business expense of 
furnishing room and board, alone or as part of custodial care, shall be allowed, provided 
that the amount shall not exceed the payment the VHAP group receives from the 
roomer/boarder for lodging/meals. (See the Medicaid Procedures Manual at P-2420 D2 
for the table of standard business expense deductions for homes providing room or board 
on a non-commercial basis.) 
 

* * * *  
5324  Income Test (07/01/2001, 01-07) 
 

Individuals with group income less than 150 percent of the federal poverty level (FPL) are 
eligible for VHAP, as long as none of the conditions that result in a reduced income test 
apply. These conditions are described in paragraph three below. 
 
Uninsured parents and caretaker relatives having dependent children in their households 
and group income less than 185 percent of the federal poverty level (FPL) are eligible for 
VHAP.   This higher income test applies to those caring for children. If the household 
includes two caretaker relatives, the 185% income test applies to both adults. 
 
Current poverty levels are at P-2420. 
 
The income maximums (P-2420) are updated annually on January 1 using a 
methodology similar to the one employed by the federal government in setting the FPLs. 
In years when the actual FPL exceeds ESD’s income maximum, ESD will issue a second 
increase on April 1. 
 
 



 

Bulletin No. 09-24P 

Page 15 

 

 

5342 Eligibility Period and Enrollment (12/01/2003, 03-17) 
 

A. Eligibility 
 

The VHAP eligibility criteria are described in rules 5311 – 5331. 
 

B. Enrollment 
 

If all eligibility criteria are met, the individual shall be enrolled in the VHAP program on the 
first day of the month after the department has received and processed the premium. 
 
Once enrolled, coverage continues until the scheduled eligibility review unless 
beneficiaries are disenrolled from the program following a notice mailed at least 11 days 
before the termination date because they: 
 
1. have a change in income that results in income over the applicable income test; 
 
2. have a change in the household size that results in income over the income test for the 

new household size; 
 
3. lose eligibility as a student; 
 
4. are incarcerated; 
 
5. are admitted to a long-term care facility, such as a nursing home, a free-standing 

psychiatric facility or an ICF/MR facility for longer than 30 days; 
 
6. acquire insurance that includes both hospital and physician coverage that has no 

disqualification period for a pre-existing condition, or has a disqualification period that 
has ended or that has lasted for one year or more; 

 
7. become eligible for Medicare coverage regardless of enrollment; 
 
8. move out-of-state; 
 
9. voluntarily disenroll from the program; 
 
10. are found to have been ineligible on the date coverage began; 
 
11. are no longer in contact with the department and have no known address; 
 
12. fail to provide verification requested for another program if it pertains to an eligibility 

factor for the VHAP program; 
 
13. fail to pay any required premiums; or 
 
14. die. 
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The notice will inform beneficiaries of their appeal rights and provide them with 
information about other health care assistance, including how and where to apply. 
 
Individuals are required to report any of the above changes, as applicable, and any 
change of address within 10 days of the change. 
 
Individuals who have been disenrolled from the VHAP program must file a new 
application for the program before eligibility may be re-established. 

 
 A review of eligibility will be completed before the end of each certification period to 

assure uninterrupted coverage if the individual remains eligible, complies in a timely 
manner with review requirements, and pays any required premium by the due date.  An 
individual who fails to comply timely with review requirements and paying any required 
premium shall receive a termination notice mailed at least 11 days before the termination 
date. A failure to comply timely may result in a gap in coverage. 

 
5342.1 VHAP-Limited Coverage (10/01/2007, 07-24) 
 

Individuals applying for VHAP will receive limited coverage, as described in the 
Medicaid Procedures Manual section P-4003, at no cost between the date the 
department determines eligibility and the date full coverage begins. Full coverage 
begins on the first day of the month after the department has processed the full 
premium payment as specified at rules 4160-4162. Individuals who do not pay the full 
premium by the due date are responsible for all bills incurred during that limited 
coverage period. The notice of eligibility the department sends individuals describes the 
limited coverage and includes a warning that failure to pay the full premium by the due 
date will result in no coverage for any bills incurred since the date of eligibility. 
Individuals will also be notified of the requirement that they must choose a primary care 
provider by the premium due date, or one will be chosen for them by the department. 
 
When an individual’s eligibility or coverage is cancelled or closed in whole or in part due 
to nonpayment of the premium and the individual attempts to reenroll within twelve 
months, VHAP-Limited coverage will be provided only if the individual meets one of the 
five exceptions listed below. 
 
A. The individual or spouse had employer-sponsored insurance that terminated 

because of: 
 

1. loss of employment; 
 
2. death of the principal insurance policyholder; 
 
3. divorce or dissolution of a civil union; 
 
4. no longer qualifying as a dependent under the plan of a parent or caretaker 

relative; or 
 
5. no longer receiving COBRA, VIPER or other state continuation coverage. 



 
B. The individual or spouse had university-sponsored insurance that terminated because they 
graduated, took a leave of absence, or otherwise terminated their studies. Students under the 
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age of 23 enrolled in a program of an institution of higher education are not eligible for 
coverage, however, if they: 

 
1.   have elected not to purchase health insurance covering both hospital and 

physician services offered by their educational institution; or 
 
2.  are eligible for coverage through the policy held by their parents, but their 

parents have elected not to purchase this coverage. 
  

C. The individuals household income dropped below 75% of FPL, after allowable 
deductions, for households of the same size. 

 
D. The individual established residence in another state for more than 30 days and 

subsequently returned to Vermont. 
 
E. The individual was medically incapacitated, as specified in rule 4161, during the 

period when premium payments were due.  In cases of medical incapacity, VHAP-
Limited coverage will be provided as of the first day of the month following the 
month of closure due to non payment of premium because of medical incapacity, 
once the application has been received and processed.  No premium will be 
required for the period of medical incapacity.   
 
If the health condition related to this medical incapacity is expected to continue or 
recur, the department will encourage beneficiaries to designate an authorized 
representative to receive and pay future bills for as long as the anticipated duration 
of the condition. 

 

F.  The individual lost health insurance as a result of domestic violence. The individual 
shall provide the agency of human services with satisfactory documentation of the 
domestic violence. The documentation may include a sworn statement from the 
individual attesting to the abuse, law enforcement or court records, or other 
documentation from an attorney or legal advisor, member of the clergy, or health 
care provider, as defined in section 9402 of Title 18.  

 
 Information relating to the domestic violence, including the individual’s statement 

and corroborating evidence, provided to the agency shall not be disclosed by the 
agency unless the individual has signed a consent to disclose form. In the event the 
agency is legally required to release this information without consent of the 
individual, the agency shall notify the individual at the time the notice or request for 
release of information is received by the agency and prior to releasing the requested 
information. 

 
G.  A self-employed individual insured through the nongroup market who lost insurance 

as the direct result of either:  
 

1.   the termination of a business entity owned by the individual 



 
      or  
 
2.   the individual’s  inability to continue in his or her line of work, if: 
 

• the individual produces satisfactory evidence of the business termination or   
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• certifies by affidavit that he or she is not employed and is no longer seeking 
employment in the same line of work. 

 
NOTE:  Subsection G shall take effect upon approval by the Centers for Medicare 
and Medicaid Services.  The Joint Fiscal Committee, on August 18, 2009, voted to 
eliminate funding for this provision.  The Committee also recommended repeal of 
statutory authorization for this provision.   Implementation of the rule is uncertain. 
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VSCRIPT RULES 

 
5620 Uninsured Definition (01/01/2006, 05-24) 
 

 An individual whose prescription drug expenses are paid or reimbursable, either in whole 
or in part, by any plan of assistance or insurance, including Medicaid, Medicare or VHAP, 
or eligibility for Medicaid, Medicare or VHAP, shall not be eligible for pharmaceutical 
assistance under VScript.    
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HEALTHY VERMONTERS RULES 
 
5710 Eligibility (01/01/2006, 05-24) 
 

Individuals are eligible for Healthy Vermonters if they have household income no greater 
than 300 percent of the federal poverty level (FPL), as calculated under the rules for the 
VHAP program. 
 
Individuals are also eligible for Healthy Vermonters if they have household income no 
greater than 400 percent of the FPL, as calculated under the rules for the VHAP program 
(5300), and meet the categorical eligibility requirements. 
 
The following table presents the eligibility requirements. 

 
Eligibility Requirements for Healthy Vermonters 

 
Income Maximum Categorical Eligibility Requirement 
350 Percent of the FPL None 

Age 65 or older 
Or disabled  

 
 
400 percent of the FPL Or disabled and eligible for social security 

disability benefits 

 
 

Individuals remain eligible as long as they meet all program requirements. 
 
 
5724 Income Test (01/01/2006, 05-24) 
 

Individuals are eligible for Healthy Vermonters if they have income no greater than 350 
percent of the federal poverty level (FPL). 
 
Individuals are also eligible for Healthy Vermonters if they have income no greater than 
400 percent of the FPL and are: 65 or older; or disabled and eligible for social security 
disability benefits. 
 
The income guidelines are updated annually on January 1 using a methodology similar to 
the one employed by the federal government in setting the FPLs. In years when the actual 
FPL exceeds ESD’s income maximum, ESD will issue a second increase on April 1. 
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PREMIUM ASSISTANCE RULES 
 
 
5901 Definitions (12/04/2008, 08-40) 
 

* * * *  
L.   Uninsured. An individual who does not qualify for Medicare, Medicaid, VHAP, or Dr. 

Dynasaur and had no private insurance or employer-sponsored coverage that includes both 
hospital and physician services within twelve months prior to the month of application, or lost 
private insurance or employer-sponsored coverage during the prior twelve months for any of 
the following reasons: 

 
1. The individual’s private insurance or employer-sponsored coverage ended because of: 

 
a. Loss of employment, including a reduction in hours that results in ineligibility for 

employer-sponsored coverage, unless the employer has terminated its 
employees or reduced their hours for the primary purpose of discontinuing 
employer-sponsored coverage and establishing their eligibility for CH 

 
b.  Death of the principal insurance policy holder; 
 
c.  Divorce or dissolution of a civil union; 
 
d.  No longer qualifying as a dependent under the plan of a parent or caretaker 

relative; 
 
e.  No longer receiving COBRA, VIPER, or other state continuation coverage; or 

 
2.  College- or university-sponsored health insurance became unavailable to the 

individual because the individual graduated, took a leave of absence, decreased 
enrollment below a threshold set for continued coverage, or otherwise terminated 
studies. 

 
3.  The individual lost health insurance as a result of domestic violence.   
 

a.   The individual shall provide the agency of human services with satisfactory 
documentation of the domestic violence. The documentation may include a sworn 
statement from the individual attesting to the abuse, law enforcement or court 
records, or other documentation from an attorney or legal advisor, member of the 
clergy, or health care provider, as defined in section 9402 of Title 18. Information 
relating to the domestic violence, including the individual’s statement and 
corroborating evidence, provided to the agency shall not be disclosed by the 
agency unless the individual has signed a consent to disclose form. In the event 
the agency is legally required to release this information without consent of the 
individual, the agency shall notify the individual at the time the notice or request for 
release of information is received by the agency and prior to releasing the 
requested information. 
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b.   Subdivision (a) of this subdivision (3) shall take effect upon issuance by the 
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services of approval of an amendment to the 
Global Commitment for Health Medicaid Section 1115 Waiver allowing for a 
domestic violence exception to the Catamount Health premium assistance waiting 
period. 

 
4.  A self-employed individual insured through the nongroup market who lost insurance 

as the direct result of either:  
 

a.   the termination of a business entity owned by the individual; or  
 
b.   the individual’s inability to continue in his or her line of work when the individual 

produces satisfactory evidence to the Department for Children and Families 
Economic Services Division (ESD) of the business termination.   Satisfactory 
evidence may include an affidavit to the ESD that the individual is not employed 
and is no longer seeking employment in the same line of work.   
 

NOTE:   Subsection 4 shall take effect upon approval by the Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services.  The Joint Fiscal Committee, on August 18, 2009, voted 
to eliminate funding for this provision.  The Committee also recommended 
repeal of statutory authorization for this provision.   Implementation of the rule 
is uncertain. 

   
*  *  *  * 

 

 

5925 Eligibility Period and Enrollment (10/01/2007, 07-24) 
 
Eligibility for all premium-assistance programs is subject to annual review. Eligibility review will 
be completed before the end of each certification period to assure uninterrupted coverage if the 
individual remains eligible, complies in a timely manner with review requirements, and pays any 
required premium by the due date. An individual who fails to timely comply with review and 
premium requirements shall receive a termination notice mailed at least eleven days before the 
termination date. A failure to timely comply may result in a gap in coverage.  If a beneficiary’s 
coverage is terminated because of nonpayment of the premium, and the reason for nonpayment 
is medical incapacity, reinstatement is unavailable for the gap.    
 
 


