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Federal law requires the department to recover Medicaid expenses for long-term care for individuals 
over age 55 and to define undue hardship criteria exemptions (42 U.S.C. §1396p(b)(3)).  This rule 
proposes to amend the department’s undue hardship exemptions from estate recovery as authorized in 
Act 152 (33 V.S.A. §1906a) and reflected in the terms of the Medicaid state plan amendment 
approved by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (formerly the Health Care Finance 
Administration) on July 20, 2000. 
 
Specific Changes to Existing Regulations 
 

 

M159 through 
M159.2 
 

Content in M159.1 revised for consistency with M154.  Reorganizes, clarifies, and 
updates existing regulations.  In addition, a new subsection (c) has been added to 
M159.2 to mirror the content of Vermont’s state Medicaid plan. 
 

M159.23 

Revises regulation to conform with the conditions of approval given to Vermont to 
amend its Medicaid state plan provisions related to undue hardship by the Health 
Care Financing Administration (HCFA; since renamed the Centers for Medicare 
and Medicaid Services, or CMS).  

M159.21 
through 
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Prior Rule History 
 
This rule was filed once before, on March 15, 2002, as PATH proposed rule 02-06. 
 
During the first public comment process, some commenters, including a legislator, objected to the 
department’s proposal to limit the homestead exemption to $125,000.  These commenters asserted 
instead that homesteads of any value should be exempted from Medicaid estate recovery, provided the 
heirs met the other requirements of the hardship test.  In that filing, the Agency of Human Services 
had included a $125,000 cap on the value of a homestead that may be subject to this exemption, 
consistent with 33 V.S.A. §1906a as passed in 1999, and amended in 2000. 
 
In response, the Agency withdrew the first filing in order to request explicit approval from the federal 
government to exempt homesteads of any value from the estate recovery program when the 
descendents of the deceased person meet the qualifying conditions.   On November 25, 2002, the 
federal government clarified that a cap on homestead value is required.   
 
The department refiled the proposed rule with the originally proposed $125,000 cap on value based 
on the written comments received from two probate court judges, one legislator, one attorney, and 
one advocacy group, the Council of Vermont Elders, during the prior rule filing.  The final proposed 
rule has been amended since originally filed on September 19, 2003 to raise the proposed $125,000 
cap on value to $250,000 in response to an expressed concern of the Legislative Committee on 
Administrative Rules. 
 
Summary of Public Hearing and Written Comments 
 
A public hearing was held on April 14, 2003.  Written comments were submitted by a Legislator, the 
Health Care Ombusdsman, the Community of Vermont Elders, and an attorney with a private practice 
in Vermont.  The comments are summarized and responded to below. 
 
Elimination of the $125,000 cap 
 
Comment: Three commenters asked the department to remove the $125,000 cap.  

 
Response: From the onset of this policy discussion, the issue of undue hardship has been rooted in 

the federal requirement that the exemption be limited to homes of modest value.  
Legislation passed in 1999 exempted homesteads from Medicaid estate recovery if they 
were valued at or below $125,000 provided the heirs had income below 300 percent of 
the federal poverty level, or had given care that had delayed or avoided nursing home 
placement.   
 
During the 8 months following passage of the statute, CMS posed a hurdle.  It was 
poised to deny Vermont’s request to amend its state plan to exempt homes from estate 
recovery because the $125,000 cap significantly exceeded CMS’ definition of “modest 
value”.   Following negotiations with CMS officials, “modest value” and “$125,000” 
were removed from the proposed state Medicaid plan amendment with the 
understanding that the state would still comply with the Vermont General Assembly’s 
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directive to apply a $125,000 cap via regulation.  Moreover, Medicaid is a poverty 
program providing public health care assistance for indigent individuals.   Consistent 
with the clearly expressed Congressional intent, persons and individuals with greater 
means should be liable for reimbursement of some costs of their long-term care through 
estate recovery.    
 
In response to an expressed concern of members of the Legislative Committee on 
Administrative Rules, the department has revised the rule to enable heirs to seek the 
homestead exemption up to a $250,000 value of the home if they otherwise qualify.  
These changes are intended to more accurately reflect the change in the value of real 
property in this state since the passage of the original legislation in 1999.  In addition, 
applying the cap to the first $250,000, of value enables any heir who otherwise meets 
the criteria to seek the exemption. 

 
Broadening applicability beyond statutory language referencing lineal heirs or siblings 
 
Comment: One commenter requested the rule be changed to allow lineal descendants of siblings to 

be eligible for the exemption because it violates the public benefits clause of the 
Vermont Constitution to preclude availability of the exemption to granchildren of a 
sibling who provided substantial care to an unmarried, childless, deceased Medicaid 
recipient. 
 

Response: The statutory authority is specifically limited.  It extends the exemption “provided that 
the homestead would pass to one or more lineal heirs or siblings of the descendent.”  
The department’s discretion is prescribed by the mandatory statutory language.  It is not 
authorized to extend the exemption to “lineal heirs, siblings, and the lineal heirs of 
siblings of the descendent”.    

 
Allow full exemption when, in multiple heir situtations, only one of the heirs meets the criteria 
 
Comment: One commenter recommended that the department allow the full exemption in multiple 

heir situations because it is unlikely all heirs will meet the criteria, so homes will have to 
be sold. 
 

Response: The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services conditioned approval of the state 
Medicaid plan upon limiting the hardship only to qualifying heirs.  The purpose of the 
exemption is to benefit only individuals who meet the criteria.  In some cases that will 
permit preservation of a homestead.  In other circumstances, depending on the other 
assets and liabilities of the estate and the number of heirs, it may simply result in a cash 
payment or a credit to qualifying heirs.   

 
* * * * * 

 
Vertical lines in the left margin indicate significant changes.  Dotted lines at the left indicate changes 
to clarify, rearrange, correct references, etc., without changing regulation content.   
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Three dots at the bottom of a page after the last line of text and three dots at the top of the following 
page before the first line of text indicate that text has been moved.   
 

* * * * * 
 

For more information about the Administrative Procedures Act and the rules applicable to state 
rulemaking please go to the website of the Office of the Vermont Secretary of State at: vermont-
archives.org/apa/rules.html or call Louise Corliss at 828-2863. 
 
For information on upcoming hearings before the Legislative Committee on Administrative Rules 
please go to the website of the Vermont Legislature at:  www.leg.state.vt.us/schedule/schedule2.cfm 
or call 828-5760. 
 
Manual Holders:   Please maintain manuals assigned to you by removing and inserting the following 
pages.  
 
 

Manual Maintenance 
 

Medicaid Rules 
 

Remove 
 
M159     (94-26F) 
M159 P.2       (97-10F) 
M159 P.3                (99-12) 
M159 P.4                (99-12) 
Nothing 

      Insert 
 

M159 
M159.2            (03-08)  
M159.21                     (03-08)  
M15.21 P.2               (03-08) 
M159.22                       (03-08) 
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M159 Adjustment or Recovery 
 
The department may take action either before or after Medicaid payment of a claim to assure appropriate 
disbursement of Medicaid funds when payment turns out to be inappropriate due to subsequently 
discovered resources, fraud, error, or the development of third party-liability.  Taking administrative 
action and accepting partial or full reimbursement shall not preclude either simultaneous or subsequent 
action in civil or criminal court as appropriate. 
 
The department may:  
 
(a) negotiate adjustment or recovery on a voluntary basis with recipient, provider, or an obligated third 

party; 
 
(b) accept adjustment or recovery in conjunction with the imposition of provider sanctions (see 

Ml55.4);  
 
(c) file a lien against any third party to recover Medicaid expenditures from any settlement, judgment, 

or other income that may be awarded through negligence liability action; 
 
(d) enter direct civil action to effect adjustment or recovery when other efforts fail; or 
 
(e) investigate and prepare for referral to the appropriate criminal prosecutor any case presumed 

subject to adjustment or recovery by way of such action. 
 
Providers may be required to enter a claim against any subsequently discovered health insurance 
resources previously unknown or overlooked and submit an adjusted Medicaid claim upon collection, 
with reimbursement as appropriate. 
 
M159.1 Adjustments or Recoveries from Estates  
 
The department shall seek adjustment or recovery from the estates of individuals who died on or after 
January 1, 1994 provided that the individuals were 55 years of age or older when they received long-
term care services paid for by the Medicaid program for nursing facility services, home-and-
community-based waiver services, and related hospital and prescription drug services.  Related 
hospital and prescription drug services are those paid for by the Medicaid program during a period of 
time when the individual is living in a nursing facility or enrolled in a home-and-community-based 
waiver program.   Adjustment or recovery shall include amounts in personal needs accounts.   
 
The department will file a claim with the probate court as a creditor of the estate to recover its 
expenditures for long-term care services only after the death of an individual's surviving spouse, if 
any, and when the individual has no surviving child who is under age 21, or blind, or permanently and 
totally disabled as defined by the Social Security Administration.   
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M159.2 Exemptions from Estate Adjustment or Recovery 
 
The department exempts the following assets from estate adjustment or recovery when an heir requests 
an exemption in writing no later than four months after the publication of notice to creditors of the estate. 
 
(a)   Homes in trust prior to December 1, 1997   
 
 The department normally recovers for long-term care Medicaid costs incurred after January 1, 

1994.  Individuals with homes in revocable trusts who received Medicaid payment of long-term 
care services before December 1, 1997, however, are exempt from recovery until after May 1, 
1998, or, if later, the effective date of the first Medicaid eligibility review completed after 
December 1, 1997. 

 
(b)   When loss of assets would present an undue hardship 
 

The department will not seek adjustment or recovery from assets when that adjustment or 
recovery would present an undue hardship to the decedent’s family members, as specified 
below and in subsection M159.21. 

 
(1)    Income-producing assets  
 
 Undue hardship exists when adjustment or recovery from an income-producing asset 

can be made only if the asset, alone or in combination with other related assets, is sold 
and either or both of the following conditions are met: 

 
(A)  The assets sold are the sole source of income for the decedent’s spouse, parents, 

children, or siblings. 
 
(B)   As a result of the sale, the decedent’s spouse, parents, children, or siblings would 

qualify for public assistance (Reach Up benefits, SSI/AABD, general or 
emergency assistance, or TANF or TANF/MOE benefits from another state). 

 
(c) Estates with personal property valued at less than $2,000 

 
 The department will not seek recovery where the estate inventory filed with the probate court 

consists only of personal property that does not exceed $2,000 in value, such as home 
furnishings, apparel, personal effects, and household goods. 
 

The department will not seek to recover assets for which the department has imposed a penalty period 
of ineligibility for Medicaid coverage of long-term care services related to the transfer of those assets.  

 



  
 
Vermont Department of Prevention,                                                                     Medicaid Rules 
Assistance, Transition, and Health Access   
  
12/1/03 Bulletin No. 03-08   M159.21 
    
 
M159.21 Undue Hardship Exemptions Applicable to Homesteads 

 
At any time before closure of the probate estate, an heir may assert that adjustment or recovery against 
the homestead would be an undue hardship and that the homestead should be exempt from adjustment 
or recovery for the costs of Medicaid long-term care services.   The department shall exempt a 
decedent’s home from estate adjustment or recovery based on undue hardship when one or more of 
the following three conditions have been established to the department’s satisfaction. 

 
(a) A sibling has been living in the home continuously for at least one year immediately before the 

date the decedent began receiving long-term care services. 
 
(b) A son or daughter has been living in the home continuously for at least two years immediately 

prior to the date the decedent began receiving long-term care services and provided care that 
allowed the decedent to remain at home. 

 
(c) Conditions (1), (2), and (3) below have been met. 
 

(1) The fair market value of the homestead is less than $250,000.  If the fair market value of 
the homestead exceeds this amount, the first $250,000 in fair market value shall be exempt 
from estate recovery and any equity value in excess of $250,000 shall be subject to the 
provisions of M159.1. 

 
(2) A sibling or lineal heir of the deceased Medicaid beneficiary will inherit the homestead.  A 

lineal heir is a direct descendant, such as a child or grandchild. 
  
(3) The heir meets one or both of conditions (A) and (B) below.  
 

(A)   The heir has gross family income below 300 percent of the federal poverty level.  No 
income exclusions or deductions are allowed.  The income of the persons presented 
in the following table is included in the heir’s gross family income, provided that 
they are living in the heir’s household. 

 
Type of Heir Family Members, 

 If Living in the Heir’s Household 
 
Adult 18 years or older; or person younger 
than 18 and emancipated 
 

Heir 
Heir’s spouse or civil union partner 
Heir’s biological or adoptive child or stepchild 

Person younger than 18 and not emancipated 

 
Heir 
Heir’s parent 
Heir’s stepparent 
Heir’s biological or adoptive sibling, stepsibling, or  
half sibling, if younger than 18 and not emancipated 
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M159.21 Undue Hardship Exemptions Applicable to Homesteads  (Continued) 

 
(B)   The heir demonstrates that significant services or financial support provided to the 

deceased person by heirs meeting condition (2) or the spouses of such heirs enabled 
the person to avoid long-term care or delay it at least six months.  It is not 
necessary for the deceased person to have been a Medicaid beneficiary when the 
services or financial support were provided.  Services may have been provided in 
combination with services provided by governmental or other private entities.   

 
To meet condition (B), the services or financial support must fall into one or both 
of the following two categories:   

 
(i)   Medical or remedial care or support services that were: 
 

• medically necessary; 
• provided directly by the heir or the heir’s spouse without 

compensation, or purchased with the heir’s funds; and  
• provided while the deceased person required medical care and 

services consistent with the level of care standard for level III 
residential care homes at a frequency averaging no fewer than three 
times per week or, if provided less frequently, constituting the 
equivalent expenditure of time or money.  

 
 The department shall not verify the level of care unless it has a 

reasonable basis for questioning that the level III standard was met. 
 
(ii)  Other services or financial support at least as significant as the care or 

services   described in category (i). 
 

When there are two or more heirs, the full value of the homestead is exempt from Medicaid 
estate adjustment or recovery only if each heir meets conditions (1), (2), and (3) above.    
When one or more heirs do not meet conditions (1), (2), and (3), the percentage of the value of 
the homestead corresponding to their share is subject to Medicaid estate adjustment or 
recovery. 
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M159.22 Methodology for Adjusting a Claim Against a Homestead  
 
An estate includes all real and personal property and other assets listed on an inventory filed in the 
probate court.  The probate court oversees the distribution of assets to heirs and the payment of the 
decedent’s outstanding debts, which requires creditors to submit proof of their claims to the court. 
 
The probate court judge compares the total value of claims filed by creditors to the total value of 
available assets in the estate.  The court determines which assets are available to pay debts.   
 
When any heir meets the department's undue hardship criteria as specified in M159.2, some or all of 
these available assets may be exempt from adjustment or recovery by the department under these 
rules.  Nonexempt assets are those subject to the department’s claim because an heir has not met the 
undue hardship criteria.  Creditors other than the department are not subject to these exemptions. 
 
When the total available assets are insufficient to pay all claims, the probate court prioritizes the debts 
and prorates each claim according to law.  Each creditor collects the resulting percentage of its claim.   
 
If there are sufficient nonexempt assets to allow the department to collect its full percentage, it does 
so.  If the nonexempt assets allow the department to collect only a partial amount of its share after the 
court's proration, it collects that amount.   The department shall maintain its original claim so it can be 
prorated along with all other creditor’s claims according to law.   The department notifies the court of 
its decision on the homestead exemption.  If the department grants a homestead exemption, it shall 
inform the court of the maximum payment it will accept against its claim.  The department determines 
the maximum payment it will accept by subtracting the amount of the exemption from the amount of 
the department’s claim.  
 
M159.23  Methodology for Retroactive Homestead Exemption Claims  
 
The undue hardship exemption applicable to homesteads shall be effective for any probate estate 
opened after June 30, 1999.   Heirs seeking the exemption from July 1, 1999, through the effective 
date of this policy must submit their claim to the department’s Third Party Liability Unit in the Office 
of Vermont Health Access within 60 days following receipt of proper notice from the department.   In 
the sole discretion of the commissioner, the department may make exceptions to the 60-day rule when 
an heir establishes undue hardship due to lack of notice, a medical need, or natural disaster.   Heirs 
seeking an exemption from the 60-day submission requirement must sign an affidavit describing the 
condition that prevented them from complying with the 60-day submission requirement and submit 
the affidavit along with supporting documentation to the commissioner. 
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