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This bulletin changes the Vermont Health Access Plan (VHAP) eligibility rules as required by the 

fiscal year 2003 budget act, H. 766 (2002), enacted by the Vermont General Assembly.  This bulletin 

was filed using the expedited rule-making process authorized by the budget act.  The changes are 

summarized below.  

 

Changes to VHAP Eligibility Rules 
 

VHAP currently limits coverage to persons who are uninsured at the time they apply for benefits.   

Under current rules, some applicants who have lost other coverage may have to wait one year from 

the effective date of loss of other coverage to become eligible for VHAP.  The budget act changes the 

eligibility rules for applicants who have had coverage for hospital and physician services in the past 

twelve months.  Under the budget act, the one year waiting period is waived for certain individuals 

who have lost employer-sponsored coverage, college or university sponsored coverage, or applicants 

with income below 75 percent of the federal poverty level. 
 
Summary of Written Comments 
 

Written comments were received from the Office of Health Care Ombudsman seeking clarification 

about implementation and will be responded to separately.   No other comments concerning the 

proposed rule were received. 
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4000  Introduction 

 

The General Assembly of the State of Vermont, in enacting Act 14 (1995), created a health security 

trust fund for the purpose of providing expanded access to health care benefits for uninsured low-

income Vermonters.  This coverage is provided under the Vermont Health Access Plan for the 

uninsured (VHAP). 

 

Access is expanded by an approved waiver from the Health Care Financing Administration (HCFA) 

that eliminates the Medicaid categorical test and the resource test for individuals age 18 or over.  

Vermont's approved 1115 Research and Demonstration Medicaid Waiver also authorizes the Agency 

of Human Services to require enrollment in managed care as a condition of eligibility for this new 

coverage group and to limit the covered services provided to VHAP beneficiaries.  Additional 

provisions of the Medicaid program are waived.  (Refer to M100 section of policy Purpose-Medicaid 

Program and Purpose-Vermont Health Access Plan). 

 

The policies that follow implement the Vermont Health Access Plan (VHAP) program, including the 

requirements for eligibility and, if required, for enrollment in managed health care plans.  The 

requirement to enroll in a managed health care plan is subject to plan availability and capacity. 

 

4001  Eligibility 

 

An individual must meet all of the following requirements (4001.1 - 4001.91) to be found eligible for 

this program. 

 

4001.1 Age  

 

An individual age 18 or over meets the age requirement. 
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4001.2 Uninsured or Underinsured                                                           

 

Individuals meet this requirement if they do not qualify for Medicare and have no other insurance that 

includes both hospital and physician services, and did not have such insurance within the 12 months 

prior to the month of application, unless they meet one of the following exceptions specified below.   

 

(a)  Exceptions related to loss of employer-sponsored coverage  

 

 Individuals who had coverage under another health insurance plan within the 12 months prior to 

the month of application meet this requirement if their employer-sponsored coverage ended 

because of: 

 

• loss of employment; 

• death of the principal insurance policyholder; 

• divorce or dissolution of a civil union;  

• no longer qualifying as a dependent under the plan of a parent or caretaker relative; or 

• no longer qualifying for COBRA, VIPER or other state continuation coverage. 

  

(b)  Exceptions related to loss of college or university-sponsored coverage 

 

 Individuals who had coverage under another health insurance plan within the 12 months prior to 

the month of application meet this requirement if college or university-sponsored health 

insurance became unavailable to them because they graduated, took a leave of absence, or 

otherwise terminated their studies. 

 

 Students under the age of 23 enrolled in a program of an institution of higher education are not 

eligible for coverage, however, if they: 

 

• have elected not to purchase health insurance covering both hospital and physician services 

offered by their educational institution; or  

• are eligible for coverage through the policy held by their parents, but their parents have 

elected not to purchase this coverage.  

 

(c)  Exceptions related to loss of coverage for low-income applicants 

 

 Individuals who had coverage under another health insurance plan within the 12 months before 

the month of application also meet this requirement if their household income, after allowable 

deductions, is at or below 75 percent of the federal poverty guideline for households of the same 

size.    

 The new provisions in this section, marked by a solid line at the left, will be implemented upon 

approval from the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services. 


