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Memorandum
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Re: Fingerprint Supported Background Checks
Date: May 31, 2019

This memo is to inform you about a recent change regarding fingerprint supported background

checks for family child care home (FCCH) household members who are 18 years of age or older
(adults). Due to a federal requirement, CDD will be conducting fingerprint supported

* background checks for all adult FCCH household members even if they are not working with

child care children.

CDD submitted its 2019 - 2021 state plan to the federal Administration for Children and Families
(ACF). As part of this state plan submission, CDD is required to comply with all new federal child
care laws and rules, The federal regulations require that all adult FCCH household members must be
screened through a fingerprint supported background check, even if they do not work in the FCCH.
CDD has only implemented the national fingerprint supported background check requirement for
those adult FCCH household mémbers who also work in some capacity with the children enrolled in
the child care program.

Vermont requested a waiver from the federal government for the fingerprint supported background
check requirement for those adult FCCH household members who do not work with children enrolled
in child care. In October 2018, CDD met with ACF about this waiver request. Unfortunately, ACF is
not willing to grant a waiver to Vermont. CDD is required to comply and ensure all adult FCCH
household members complete the fingerprint supported background check requirement.

CDD Licensing Technicians will contact each family child care provider who has one or more adult
household members who have not been issued a Fingerprint Authorization Certificate form. You
may need to submit updated Record Check Authorization forms. Your Licensing Technician will let
you know if you need to do this. Once your licensing Technician has issued your remaining adult
household members their Fingerprinting Authorization Certificate, please ensure they follow the
instructions in the letter attached to the Fingerprinting Authorization Certificate.

Anyone who has already completed the fingerprint supported background check requirement for
CDD does not need to complete it again for 5 years from the date of completion. If you have
questions, please feel free to call the Licensor on Duty line at (800} 649-2642 option 3.




