About DCF

Our mission is to foster the healthy development, safety, well-being, and self-sufficiency of Vermonters.

We envision Vermont as a place where:

  • People prosper,
  • Children and families are safe and have strong, loving connections, and
  • Individuals have the opportunity to fully develop their potential.

Our Priorities

While each division has its own priorities and areas of focus, we are unified in our passion for:

  • Eliminating hunger, poverty, and homelessness.
  • Increasing the self-sufficiency of Vermonters.
  • Increasing the safety and well-being of children, youth and families.
  • Supporting Vermont’s most vulnerable citizens (e.g., older Vermonters, people with disabilities, and children).

Our Structure

DCF has six divisions that administer our main programs and services:

  1. Child Development Division (CDD)
  2. Economic Services Division (ESD)
  3. Family Services Division (FSD)
  4. Office of Child Support (OCS)
  5. Office of Disability Determination Services (DDS)
  6. Office of Economic Opportunity (OEO)