
Who is eligible?  
Children must meet all of the following 
criteria to be eligible for adoption 
assistance. They:

1.	Are either in:
a.	DCF custody or 
b.	The legal custody of someone other 

than a parent as the result of a 
CHINS or delinquency proceeding 
in Family Court

2.	Are legally freed for adoption

3.	Could not be placed without 
assistance (or it’s not in their best 
interest to do so)

4.	Are under 18 with at least one of the 
following special needs:
a.	Over the age of 3
b.	To be adopted with a sibling(s)
c.	 Diagnosed with a medical, 

physical, mental or emotional 
disability

d.	Diagnosed at high risk for a 
serious disability based on known 
risk factors in the child/ family’s 
background (e.g., prenatal 
exposure to drugs/alcohol, severe 
abuse or neglect or a parent’s 
serious mental illness)

                                                                                                                                                       

Adoption assistance helps parents to 
meet their adopted children’s varied 
— and often costly — special needs.

What does assistance include?
It could include: 

hh Monthly payments to help you 
meet the child’s ongoing needs:
The amount you get can’t be more 
than what the State would pay if the 
child was in foster care. It would be 
based on: 

ÖÖThe child’s age and special needs
ÖÖYour family’s financial situation  

hh Reimbursement for one-time 
adoption expenses:
You (or a third party) may get a 
payment of up to $2,000 for one-
time expenses related to adopting 
the child. In most cases, this will be 
a direct payment to the organization 
working to finalize your adoption 
(i.e., Project Family in Vermont). 
 
This helps cover costs such as: 

ÖÖ Homestudy fees
ÖÖ Court costs 
ÖÖ Other expenses incurred before 
the adoption is legally finalized

hh Medical benefits: 
If you live in Vermont, the child will 
be eligible for Medicaid, which helps 
cover the cost of doctor’s visits, 
prescriptions, hospital care, mental 
health services, dental care, eye care 
and more. 
 
If you don’t live in Vermont, medical 
benefits may be provided by the 
state where you live. 

hh Special services: 
You may get payment for special 
services for the child. Only services 
that would be provided for a child in 
foster care may be approved. 
 
Before your request for a special 
service can be approved, you must 
get written approval from the DCF 
Commissioner or designee. You 
must also demonstrate:

ÖÖ Financial need

ÖÖ That neither Medicaid nor your 
family’s private insurance (if the 
child is enrolled in it) will cover 
the service

ÖÖ That the service or funding for it 
is not available through another 
government program or existing 
local interagency process
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Can we appeal a decision?
Yes. You may appeal a decision about 
adoption assistance to the Human 
Services Board — a citizen’s panel 
created by the legislature to hear appeals 
of decisions made by departments in the 
Agency of Human Services.

To get a copy of the fair hearing rules 
and ask questions about the process: 

hh Call (802) 828-2536

hh Email contact.hsb@vermont.gov

You must submit your request for an 
appeal in writing—within 30 days—to:

Human Services Board Clerk
14-16 Baldwin Street, 2nd floor
Montpelier, VT 05633

When does assistance end?  
It usually ends when the child turns 18. 
However, if your child: 

hh Is in high school past age 18, it may 
be extended until graduation.

hh Has a medical, physical, mental or 
emotional disability that warrants 
continued assistance as determined by 
DCF, it may be extended until age 21. 

Any benefits provided beyond age 18  
may be provided at a different rate.
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How do I apply?
1.	You complete an application with the 

Project Family worker finalizing the 
adoption.

2.	The worker completes a Determination 
of Special Needs Form and helps you 
gather the required supporting 
documents (e.g., income tax return 
and medical documents).

3.	The worker submits your application 
to the Adoption Assistance Committee. 

4.	The Committee determines whether 
your child is eligible for assistance. 

5.	If your child is eligible, the 
Committee: 
a.	Prepares an agreement that details 

the amount and type of assistance 
as well as the terms and conditions. 
Your worker may present any concerns 
you have to the Committee.

b.	Submits the proposed agreement 
to the division’s Deputy 
Commissioner for approval.

6.	 You sign the offered agreement and 
the worker returns it to our central 
office for processing.

DCF Adoptions Unit: (802) 241-2131

You must apply and be approved 
for adoption assistance before 
the adoption is legally finalized. 


