Child care providers who have direct responsibility for the care and oversight of children, including center staff and family child care providers, must complete certain trainings to comply with the Vermont Child Care Regulations.
Vermont funds an organization through the Community College of Vermont called the Northern Lights Career Development Center (NLCDC) that can answer questions about professional development and how that fits with your goals. Please visit Northern Lights Career Development Center's website at www.northernlightscdc.org
Vermont Birth to Five has mentoring support that matches seasoned and successful early childhood professionals with less experienced child care providers to form an ongoing relationship that is practical, supportive and inspirational. Visit their website for more information at http://vermontbirthtofive.org/programs/peer-mentoring/. If you are having trouble finding training in your area, contact the Vermont Birth to Five Professional Development Hotline at 802-540-8168 or firstname.lastname@example.org
Child care licensing regulations in Vermont require training for providers and staff. It is important to refer to the appropriate regulations and position to determine the number of training hours required annually.
If your program is an approved Specialized Child Care as the director or owner you are required to take 6 hours of advanced specialized training annually to maintain compliance with your Specialized Child Care Agreement, these 6 hours can also be used as some of your annual professional development required by licensing.
Vermont Child Care Regulations require training be verified and entered in your BFIS Quality & Credential Account. This fact sheet describes how to get training, education and credentials entered and verified in your BFIS Quality & Credential Account.
Vermont Orientation Training
Vermont requires orientation training and written policies for specific positions in regulated child care. Please refer to the appropriate regulations and position to determine if orientation is required. The training consists of two parts:
- Mandated Reporter Training. See below for more information on this training and how to access it.
- The Vermont Child Development Division (CDD) is providing a free online 9-hour module to meet the Vermont Orientation Training requirements through Pennsylvania State University (Better Kid Care) that is available now at https://extension.psu.edu/programs/betterkidcare/on-demand
This online orientation training is for people who work in regulated child care, preschool and afterschool settings. Registered home providers, licensed home providers and staff, Center Based Child Care and Preschool Program staff, including public school preschool program staff, and Afterschool Program staff are all required to take this training by August 31, 2018.
We are developing an in-person option for this training. We will send more information about those options as they become available. At this point we anticipate the in-person training to be available in the summer 2018. In person options may have limited availability, so we encourage you to take this online option now if you are able.
Here We Go Training
Center Based Child Care and Preschool Programs
Licensees of Center Based Child Care and Preschool Programs are required to take the Here We Go: New CBCCPP Licensing Rules training. This includes non-recurring care programs as well. This training is available in person and online. The last in person trainings will be in October 2017 at the Vermont Association for the Young Children conference. The in person training is 2.5 hours of training, and is interactive with no tests. The online training is an independent online training that is 1.5 training hours. To receive credit for the online training you must receive at least 80% on the final test the first time you take it. It is important to watch the video and do the practice before taking the final test, and additional attempts on the training will not count for training hours. To take the online Center Based training please register here: https://attendee.gototraining.com/27d64/catalog/6525665666345325312
Family Child Care Programs
Family Child Care Providers are required to take the Here We Go: New FCCH Licensing Rules training. This training is available in person and online. Please search the BFIS Course Calendar for in person training opportunities. The in person training is 2.5 hours of training, and is interactive with no tests. The online training is an independent online training that is 1.5 training hours. To receive credit for the online training you must receive at least 80% on the final test the first time you take it. It is important to watch the video and do the practice before taking the final test, and additional attempts on the training will not count for training hours. To take the online Family Child Care Home training please register here: https://attendee.gototraining.com/27d64/catalog/6891860213149707264
This page on our website has helpful guidance on reporting child abuse and neglect. Online training on reporting child abuse and neglect is available. This training may be applied towards annual professional development requirements when it is successfully completed for the first time: http://dcf.vermont.gov/protection/reporting/mandated
First Aid and CPR
First Aid and CPR training must meet this criteria and be verified in the individual's BFIS Quality & Credential Account to meet the regulations requirements. The training must be taught by an American Heart Association, Red Cross, or American Health and Safety Institute trainer. If you complete an online first aid and/or infant/child CPR training, it must include an in-person skills component taught by someone with one of the above affiliations and result in certification. You must receive documentation of certification that includes the date of the training, the type of training (first aid or infant/child CPR) and the expiration date for the certification. CPR and First Aid trainings are offered through the American Heart Association, American Red Cross, or American Health and Safety Institute, their websites may list local and/or online training availability. Some First Aid and CPR training opportunities may be listed in the BFIS Course Calendar.
Medication Administration Training
The medication administration training must meet this criteria to count towards the regulations requirement, and it must be entered and verified in your BFIS Quality & Credential Account. If you question whether a training meets the criteria, please consult with NLCDC staff. The criteria consist of the following:
- Taught by a RN or MD;
- 5 rights of medication administration (right child, right medication, right dose, right time and right route),
- Procedures (receiving medication from the parent, storage of medication, prepare and administer medication, and documenting medication administered),
- Side effects, errors, and adverse effects, and
- Asthma and Anaphylaxis medication practice skills component, and
- Be a minimum of 2 hours and sponsored by a NLCDC approved sponsor.
If the medication administration training is online, it must include an in-person skills component for administering asthma and anaphylaxis medication and meet the above training criteria along with NLCDC online training criteria.
- Medication Administration Training which meets the VT Child Care Licensing requirements can be located by searching the BFIS course calendar. If you are having difficulty finding a training in your region please contact the VB5 Professional Development hot line at 802-540-8168 or email@example.com
- Medication Instructors can be found by searching the BFIS instructor registry
Emergency Response Training
While the licensee of a Center Based Program and a Family Child Care Provider are required to attend an emergency preparedness training, CDD does not require any particular training to meet this requirement. The only requirement is that the training include sheltering in place education. Anyone skilled in emergency response planning may offer a training. This training will assist the licensee or Family Child Care Provider in revising the Emergency Response Plan. To find trainings search the BFIS Course Calendar. Additional trainings may be available from national organizations such as Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA)'s Multihazard Planning for Childcare course.