Reporting Child Abuse
The Family Services Division (FSD) shares an important responsibility with all Vermonters: keeping children safe and making sure their basic needs are met.
If you suspect a child is being abused or neglected,report it. Protecting children is everyone's business!
Who can make a report?
While all Vermonters are encouraged to report their concerns about children’s safety to FSD, certain people — called mandated reporters — are required by law to do so.
Click here for a list of mandated reporters in Vermont. If you are a mandated reporter, this means that you alone are legally required to report suspected child abuse or neglect to FSD within 24 hours.
How do I make a report?
Call 1-800-649-5285 — 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. If the child is in immediate danger, dial 911 or your local police first. Then, call FSD to make a report.
What happens when I call?
A social worker will:
Try to have as much information on hand as possible (e.g., the child’s name, date of birth, home address, school or child care provider, and parents’ names). You can fax your written report to (802) 241-3301.
What if I’m not sure it’s abuse?
Please call us for advice, if you:
What information may be shared with me?
If you are a mandated reporter, we may share the following with you:
Can I be sued?
Vermont law provides you with immunity from civil or criminal liability as long as your report was made in good faith.
What about HIPAA?
The HIPAA privacy rule allows covered organizations to disclose protected health information to report suspected child abuse or neglect to government authorities authorized by law to receive such reports.
Is my report confidential?
We will not divulge your identity unless:
Where Can I Get More Information?